84 cutlass

Search this Thread

Old February 11th, 2014, 10:25 AM

Exclamation 84 cutlass

Hello. I work as a mechanic in a small shop, kind of in the ghetto area of my town.. The problem I have, I never experienced before, and I am lost. Its an 84 Cutlass Olds Mobile, V8. I cannot identify the vehicle because of the heavy ghetto strip out and modifications. I had another mechanic replace the transmission, due to a big hole in it. I was not present due to me working at a different place. But when i got to the car the new tranny was already in it. So I picked up where someone else left off. I have alot of broken wires, missing vacuum hoses, and broken connectors. Despite all of that, I was able to connect carb wiring, some vacuum hoses, and some broken sensors( did all of that based on the wire bend, length, proximity and common sense). WAS able to start the vehicle, which took me a good minute, but it ran approximately 6 seconds. after which engine stalled, carburetor backfired a white smoke at me, spit some fuel, and the engine rotated backwards about 5-6 turns. I have never seen engine go backwards. Any ideas what caused that and maybe how to eliminate it?
Old February 11th, 2014, 10:30 AM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Demonic possession?

Welcome to ClassicOlds!

- Eric
Old February 11th, 2014, 11:07 AM

First thought ... was it running when you got it in the first place?

If you can post some pics of your fixes, the braintrust here can certainly winnow through your handiwork and spot any mistakes. A pic of any cowl tags or RPO stickers would set them to identifying your beast.
Old February 11th, 2014, 11:50 AM

I will post pictures later. And haha demonic possessions thats what i thought the first time. its 150 here now so pic will be up here around 430.
Old February 11th, 2014, 12:09 PM

and yes it was running when we got it. but i didnt pull the tranny or the engine. i was left to clean up someone elses mess
Old February 11th, 2014, 12:16 PM