1967 425 39 or 45 degree???

Search this Thread

Old June 11th, 2009, 11:43 AM

1967 425 39 or 45 degree???

And yet again, here we go. I am sure this comes up alot. I did see one post about this before but I could not understand some of what the member was saying as far as the language he used. But, I have a 1967 425. I know its not supposed to be, but I do believe I have a small lifter 39 degree, D block Cast #389244. I had always thought that after I took off the intake and looked at the geometry of the push rods in relation to the lifters and entering the head to go to the rocker arms. I would think a 45 degree would look almost straight being the the cylinders are in a 45 degree V. My pushrods looked to be leaning back which would mean the lifter bores are a tighter angle, like maybe a 39 degree. I've read about the drill spot. I do NOT have it. Everything I have read on Olds 442 says it should be a 45 degree block. I still think not. Then on Olds442 picking the best block, Under, What Should I Look For in a BB For My Performance Olds? It says, "Most of the 425's have the 45 degree lifter angle with .842" diameter lifters. The Toro blocks have a 39° lifter angle and .921" diameter lifters. The 1967 425's have the 39 ° lifter angle and .842" diameter lifters." So what part of Olds442 is most likely to be correct? I have decided to punt on this 425 project because of the fact I am not doing a restoration project where #'s matter, and the 455 parts are cheaper and more plentiful. However, I would like to use this block since it is very high in nickel. Other than the damage done from sitting in the weather, the piston I did get free, fell right out. There is no ridge whatsoever to speak of. I am likley going to have to bore it due to the weather damage, but when I do, being high in nickel it should last me about forever. My plan is to use this block and heads with a 455 rotation assembly which makes it a true 455. Does anyone KNOW for sure if there is 1967 425 bloc