66 Olds 442 Questions

Search this Thread

Old September 12th, 2006, 08:17 AM

66 Olds 442 Questions

Greetings all,

Bear with me people I’m new to muscle cars so if I sound a little stupid please forgive me. I have a few issues but first let me tell you about my vehicle. I’m the owner of a 1966 Olds 442 all original that has had the engine upgraded with lots of upgrades. These upgrades were done two owners ago so I have no idea of what they are but I do know for a fact that the car is pushing 400 plus horse. I’m having an issue with cooling….well maybe it’s not an issue I don’t have any idea. That’s why I’m here. LOL! Anyway the engine has been overhauled and I noticed yesterday when getting one of my last cruises before the season is over that my temp gauge had a reading of 210! From what I can remember the gauge never went past 170. There were no other issues with the vehicle but I’m thinking because of all the upgrades to the engine itself and none done to the cooling system that this could be my issue. I’ve taken out the thermostat will start upgrading the cooling system itself this winter. I am looking into a high performance water pump, a Be Cool radiator, and an electric dual fan setup for the radiator. Will this drop my operating temps significantly? This whole set up will push me close to a grand and I’m just trying to figure if the investment will be worth the end result. Is 210 really high? In the past the car has overheated and actually shut down on me and would not start till it cooled off (and after a 70 buck tow of course) and I’m sorry but I cannot recall what the gauge read at that time that it shut down on me. The radiator and water pump are stock…am I headed in the right direction?

Issue number 2