Questions about 80's Custom Cruisers

Search this Thread

Old March 10th, 2017, 06:50 AM
Stationwagonguy1

Questions about 80's Custom Cruisers

I'm a newbie here - My name is David and I LOVE Custom Cruisers. I have 2 now and always looking for more, lol.

OK, on to my questions.

I have studied many pictures online and looked at quite a few Custom Cruisers on the road and I see many different colors of wood grain siding. They range from a light oak to almost a walnut brown. Since they do not make replacement vinyl to exactly match these wagons anymore it seems quite hard to keep these older wagons "original". I have a few questions that maybe some of the experts here might be able to help me with.

1. Where can I find the original paint colors offered and woodgrain colors available with each color? Is there a place that might still offer that information?

2. I can't tell if the original vinyl was matte or had a gloss. Can anyone tell me?

3. Does replacing the vinyl alter the value of the wagon for resale?

Here is my thought... Since you cannot exactly match the color - would putting a better color (since so many better options are available today than in the 80's) actually increase the value because the car would look more appealing? I have seen several "custom wagons" with obviously different siding and they look very attractive. Would they be worth more than one with a "ho hum" brown "almost match"?

I hope to hear from you guys and gals!
Old March 10th, 2017, 07:29 AM

David, as far as Custom Cruisers are concerned anything you do to it short of a frame off restoration isn't going to effect the value considerably. Since there is so little demand for these cars, do what you want to it. Don't worry about the resale value because you will never make money on it anyways.

You can find paint chips for GM cars based on year. Here's a link:

http://paintref.com/cgi-bin/colorcod...mobile&rows=50
Old March 10th, 2017, 08:59 AM
Stationwagonguy1