Vintage Oldsmobiles Curved Dash, Limited Touring, Models 40, 53, 66; Series 60, 70, 90

1957 Oil Pan Location and Suggestions

Search this Thread

Old October 14th, 2020, 12:53 PM

1957 Oil Pan Location and Suggestions

I've come to ask for more help since I am still new to working on cars, especially Olds. Plus, you guys have been awesome with all the help and advice. I want to change out a couple parts since I'm sure they are leaking, one is the oil pan. Are there any suggestions on the best route to drain and remove the pan, I want to make sure it is in good condition and put new gaskets. And I'm ashamed to ask but can someone describe where it is located. The service manual has been helpful but the oil pan sections don't have any diagrams. Thank you in advance.
Old October 14th, 2020, 02:18 PM
Proud Viet Nam Veteran

The oil pan is on the bottom of the engine. It contains the drainplug for draining the oil. If you have the factory service manual it should be pretty clear.
Old October 15th, 2020, 02:47 PM

This is what it looks like. Some don't have the extra round can on the side like this one shows.

Old October 15th, 2020, 02:55 PM
Oldsdruid

What exactly does that can do and what determined whether an engine got it?
Old October 15th, 2020, 03:41 PM

It just holds an extra quart of oil. I have two 57 Oldsmobiles and one has it and one doesn't. Some people say that the J2 tri power motor came with the extra oil can. Others say they just came random on any engine. Go fiqure. It's no big deal either way. Do you have an original 1957 Oldsmobile shop manual? If so, look at page 8-11 on how to remove the oil pan, I assume the engine is still in the car?
Old October 15th, 2020, 05:26 PM

Correct, the engine is still in the car. Awesome, thank you, I appreciate the help, now I know what to look for.
Old October 16th, 2020, 09:32 AM