How to install rear main seal questions

Search this Thread

Old March 15th, 2010, 04:47 PM

How to install rear main seal questions

Okay, I got a 70 Cutlass S Holiday Coupe with a 350 that I am in the process of replacing the oil pan gasket. I am at the point where I have the old oil pan gasket removed (PITA, BTW) and I figured I should replace the the rear main seal (preventive maint) before I button everything up. Because I do not want to do this again any time soon. Especially doing everything from my back, not having a engine hoist, etc.

So, I read the Chassis service manual. Clear as mud, since I have never done this before. But I think I have the basics.

1. Remove bearing main cap to access the upper seal.
2. Pound the upper seal into the groove from each side
3. Measure the amount of seal needed on each side then add 1/16" to the measurement
4. Cut off seal needed from lower seal to make up difference on both sides of upper seal groove
5. Add RTV to seal ends, then pack seals on both sides and cut flush
6. Install lower seal with seal installer tool, hammer into groove
7. Cut seal flush

What special tools do I need to buy? Do I need the special seal installer tool? What lubricants can I use? Do I use RTV to seal the ends of the upper seal?

Sorry for all the questions, but I am a little over my head and don't want to make this worse.
Old March 15th, 2010, 05:08 PM

Those directions seem to me to be for an engine that has the crank removed? The upper seal is behind the crank and is most likely a rope seal. Are you replacing this with a neoprene seal? If so you may be able to remove the original seal and install with the crank in place. There are tools for installing an original rope seal without removing the crank but results are usually less than desired.
Old March 15th, 2010, 05:15 PM

Originally Posted by Oldsmaniac