The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

First foray into muscle cars

Search this Thread

Old March 7th, 2017, 07:10 AM

First foray into muscle cars

Hello all, looking forward to helping where I can and getting plenty of help from you guys. I'm a serviceable mechanic, but no expert so I know I'll be relying on this forum for help with the 1971 Supreme convertible I just picked up. I recently sold a TR6 I brought back to life, and am happy to get away from Lucas electric and finicky side-draft Hitachis - as well as to have a car that I can actually fit more than person and fit some stuff in the trunk (read, carpool kids and their equipment to practices).
Thanks in advance for your help. I'll be posting questions soon...
Old March 7th, 2017, 07:24 AM
Administrator

Welcome to the site, congrats on your new toy.
Old March 7th, 2017, 09:53 AM

Welcome to the site. We look forward to seeing pics.
Old March 7th, 2017, 10:01 AM

Welcome to Classic Oldsmobile and glad you gave up that Tinker Toy! ha ha. Actually my son has a Spitfire but is starting to see the light.... Very nice car and a conv too, cool.
Old March 7th, 2017, 10:21 AM
Administrator

British cars are for masochists. You have to love pain....
Old March 7th, 2017, 12:12 PM

Excellent choice for your first Olds! You'll be able to load a bunch o' kids and gear into it, especially if it has a front bench seat.
Old March 7th, 2017, 12:16 PM

Welcome aboard

Lucas= Prince of darkness

As a former owner, the day usually started like,

1] Turn key
2] listen for fuel pump
3] Open trunk
4] take off shoe and bang fuel pump

Return to step 1
Old March 9th, 2017, 12:04 AM

have a good day
Old March 9th, 2017, 08:00 AM

Welcome aboard, back in the day I raced a bug eye sprite and midgets. You would think I would remember the grief I had before I bought another. Your headed in a much better way.... Best of luck..... Tedd