The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

olblu71

Search this Thread

Old August 8th, 2010, 05:40 PM

olblu71

I'M a newbie to this site and looking forward to the questions and answers here. I have a 71 olds cutlass s I bought in 1972 and has never given me any problems until recently the heater core started to leak. I have ordered a new one. How do you go about replacing it, I've heard several opinions.
Thanks
Old August 8th, 2010, 07:28 PM
Registered

Welcome.

Opinions on replacing a heater core???

This is what the 1971 Oldsmobile Chassis Service Manual says, good book to have if you want to know anything about or work on the car, "The Bible".
No opinions, just the facts.

This is for without AC but basically the same deal, you have to take the heater case off to get to the heater core no matter what.

"Core Assembly

The heater core is located in and attached to the heater.
To remove the core drain radiator, disconnect heater hoses and remove the five attaching nuts.

To remove the right lower attaching nut, it will ne necessary to disconnect the right fender at the bottom an block away from body then remove retaining nut thorough this opening.

Disconnect the resistor wiring, the three control cables and and remove the case assembly from the dash panel.
"

Be very careful with the nipples when you put the hoses back on, easily broken. I use a little permatex on the fittings to make the hoses slide on easier and it helps seal them, heat up the hose ends in hot water to help them stretch around it, don't forget the clamps. When removing I always cut off the hose then slit those heater hoses hunks on the fitting lengthwise and peel them off , never attempt to twist or pull them off.
Old August 8th, 2010, 07:32 PM

Heater Core Replacement