The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Hello all! 68 442 cowl tag decode...

Search this Thread

Old May 23rd, 2014, 01:04 PM

Hello all! 68 442 cowl tag decode...

Hello all I'm new to this whole GM's stuff. My dad has a 68 442 that he traded a 69 super beetle for back in the 80's. It has been sitting for at least 12 to maybe 16 years. This year he's bought a 76 MercBenz 450sl. He doesn't want the 442 anymore and I told him we aught to fix it up. I drove a 71 Ford Maverick as my first car and my dad told me that if I help him fix up the 442 I get to keep it. Then he gets to sell the Maverick to get some cash to fix up the Benz. Anyways so I'm all about it, and after doing a little research I want to know what the cowl tag decoded says. I've got the Lansing, MI part and the 336 being specific to Lansing, MI, but what about the rest?

Old May 23rd, 2014, 01:18 PM

Pics, pics, pics!!! Definitely do not get rid of it. I have a 68 but not 442. Great vehicle.
Old May 23rd, 2014, 01:25 PM

She's in pretty ruff shape but still a goodie. I don't want to get rid of it. It's going to become a father son project that is long overdue. I'll take some pics and get them uploaded shortly.
Old May 23rd, 2014, 01:30 PM

Originally Posted by Kenter