The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Hello! 1970 Cutlass SX

Search this Thread

Old April 9th, 2020, 02:49 AM

Hello! 1970 Cutlass SX

Morning!

(lengthy post, but hopefully worth the time to read. starting pics at bottom)

I am a freshman in college who has always been "into cars", but I've only recently had the time, means, and burning desire to work on them myself.

I started off a year ago on training wheels working on an '81 Corvette with my father. I was always hesitant to work on it by myself out of fear of screwing things up. But because work kept him incredibly busy lately, I knew that if I wanted to have that car to drive around in with friends, that I was going to have to face my fears and do this on my own. I replaced the radiator, power steering control valve, heater core, among other things until it was road worthy. It was such a rewarding feeling to have it done and knowing it did it myself!

Now that I am done with that I was itching for another project to fill my time in a worthwhile and fulfilling way. That's when my dad told me he had a rare cutlass just sitting in the carport oustide his old apartment he bought 40-something years ago in college for $300, and that I could use it as my first big project.

And what a "big" project it is. It is in absolutely horrible condition (it was this bad when he bought it), but to me that's a good thing as it will keep me occupied for even longer . The original 455 is gone and has been replaced with what is apparently a 1965 425 engine. virtually everything else in the engine compartment is gone, and the interior is empty save for the dash and the floor pan. attached below are pictures of of it right after it was towed to our house.