Kurt's 1971 Green Vista Cruiser Build

Search this Thread

Old June 10th, 2011, 02:32 PM
1971 Vista Cruiser

Kurt's 1971 Green Vista Cruiser Build

Well, I've been working on my Vista for over five years, off and on (mostly off). For the past year I've had my foot on the gas pedal and now it's time to get this baby back on the road. I am starting this thread to document the build.
When I got the car in 2005 from California, it ran, but barely. The paint was cracked, rust holes here and there, but all the trim and glass was there. It needed an engine rebuild, underhood paint, total bodywork, and total interior.
At this point (June 2011) I've got the engine and underhood done... looks good. Not 100 points, not even 60, but I want a good looking driver. I want something to take my daughters to car shows in before they get old enough to not want to be seen with daddy anymore (that time is coming up soon).
Right now I'm working in earnest to get the bodywork done and get it painted in July. I should be out there sanding right now, but I'll take a few minutes to log in and post a few photos.
If anyone has any questions about Vista Cruiser build, feel free to ask. I may not know the answer, but I'll sure try. This forum has been GREAT to me (Especially Erik and Bluevista), so I want to spread the love if I can. Enjoy!
Old June 10th, 2011, 02:37 PM
1971 Vista Cruiser

Uh... now I can't figure out how to upload photos. Looks like the photo has to be out on the web already and I have to link to it. I'll do that later... now my sanding block beckons!
Old June 10th, 2011, 02:37 PM

Great, My 69 Vista was a California car to. The heater had leaves in it.

Here are a few "Before Pics"
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
vistacr #1.jpg (82.7 KB, 154 views)
vistacr #2.jpg (89.1 KB, 132 views)
Old June 10th, 2011, 03:42 PM
"Car"mudgeon