General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Tires and Rims

Search this Thread

Old April 9th, 2020, 04:34 AM

Tires and Rims

Hello out there in Oldsmobile land. I am a newbie to the forum. I have a 1966 Cutlass, 2 door coupe with a 330, PS, PB, AC, AT, white ext., black int., bench seat. I am the second owner. The original brake shoes are going away and I am putting on a four wheel disc brake conversion from "The Right Stuff" (AFXDC41CZ). I have the original 14" steel rims and hubcaps which are in good condition. My understanding is that my old steelies won't fit over the new calipers. The Right Stuff directions suggest that I need to upgrade from 14" to 15" rims. Would the right 14" steel rims that fit over my new calipers be an option? If so, than I could use my groovy original hubcaps. If that is not a good option (for reasons I don't know), my questions are what size 15" rims and tires do I start shopping for? Rim size? I am not a rimologist, so I need this spelled out. What size rim do I need? Would some reproduction SS1 rims that are 15 x 8 with a 4.5" back space be correct? Is a 5" backspace rim not acceptable? Can I run Cooper Cobra 245/60R15 tires with no ill effects? Does anyone suggest a different tire or rim size that would work better? The last thing I want is tire rubbing because I didn't do my homework. Once the new tire is rim mounted, they say you can't take them back, so I need to get this right the first time. I want to have the same size tire on all four rims. I am not a speed demon. I plan on making my car fun to drive with some modern safety upgrades. The single master cylinder (yikes!!) or brake fade when the shoes get wet or hot (from locking'em up) won't be missed. My ball joints, control arm bushings and coil springs are all getting replaced during this process. Thanks for any advice you throw my way.
Old April 9th, 2020, 05:36 AM
Old(s) Fart