General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Recent find (1969 Delta 98)

Search this Thread

Old June 22nd, 2014, 08:42 AM

Recent find (1969 Delta 98)

I have been looking around for well over a year now for a full size Oldsmobile with a good 455ci engine to use as a donor engine for my 442. I’ve been holding out for a 1969 or 1970 model year Delta 98 in order to get what I believe is a better motor to use as a base for a performance build. Well, I finally found one at a decent price. The problem is I think it may be too nice to part out. I never realized how nice these full size cars are or how cool they are.
I bought this car with a broke motor and transmission. The car knocked bad and wouldn’t come out of first gear. I didn’t even do a test drive. The seller delivered it to the house which indicates to me the difficultly the seller was having with the car.
It has a high compression engine requiring high-octane fuel that I don’t believe the previous owners realized. The engine had some serious carbon build up. I poured some transmission fluid mixed with water down the carb and the knock is starting to subside. I will run a tank or two of 97-octane fuel through her and maybe pour some mystery oil down the carb and see if that helps to clean up the valves a little more. The transmission issue was also an easy fix. It was related to a bad vacuum line.
After I tuned the car up, had her running at 80 mph down the freeway without any issues. This is a beautiful car with a great ride. Now I see why some many people like these full size Oldsmobiles.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
photo-563.JPG (126.7 KB, 73 views)
photo-564.JPG (126.6 KB, 64 views)
photo-560.JPG (114.9 KB, 56 views)
photo-559.JPG (116.2 KB, 57 views)
photo-565.JPG (139.9 KB, 57 views)
Old June 22nd, 2014, 08:57 AM

Oh that affliction

Just need the engine [or whatnot]
Oh damn this is too good to kick in the grave