General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Ebay search changes again?!

Search this Thread

Old June 5th, 2013, 10:12 AM
Old(s) Fart

Angry Ebay search changes again?!

So apparently after eliminating wildcard searches (can't use olds*, you must type in (olds,oldsmobile)), ebay has now limited search strings to 100 characters.

So much for all the work typing in new terms to replace the defunct wildcards.

Basically none of my search strings, which I've been using for well over ten years, work anymore. Since ebay encourages sellers to load up ads on keywords to increase visibility, I've been forced to put a lot of "not" terms in my search strings to avoid getting all the "Oldsmobile parking only" signs and HID headlight ads. Now I either have to wade through all those or give up.

Craigslist (and support sites like Searchtempest) are looking better all the time.
Old June 5th, 2013, 10:53 AM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Wow. Frustrating.

I wonder how doing that works to make them any more money?

- Eric
Old June 5th, 2013, 11:20 AM

Joe, I just spent and hour messing with e-bay It just isn't worth it to me.
Old June 5th, 2013, 11:36 AM

Wildcards don't give eBay a clear data path to what a buyer is searching for (whether full text search, cloud view, or whatever.)

By eliminating the use of Wild Cards, eBay forces us to be more specific with search queries and providing eBay with more and better data to crunch.

So, in a nutshell, dumb people that search dumb stuff are getting advertisements and we're forced to do the same.
Old June 5th, 2013, 12:29 PM
72 Olds CS

damn dumb people ruining it for us smart azzes
Old June 5th, 2013, 02:23 PM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by RetroRanger
damn dumb people ruining it for us smart azzes
Actually, people who think they know it all are really ruining it for those of us who do.
Old June 5th, 2013, 03:47 PM

Originally Posted by joe_padavano