General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

after a year of searching finally found my 69-72 A-body donor car w/ stock disc

Search this Thread

Old February 16th, 2014, 10:33 AM
Tastefully Hooped

after a year of searching finally found my 69-72 A-body donor car w/ stock disc

so after nearly a year of searching local wrecking yards & classifieds i finally found a '68 El Camino SS being parted out complete with it's stock front disc set up. i almost passed on the car because i know in '68 disc brake cars originally had the rare 4 piston calipers. car was close by so i decided to take a look happy to say a p zcrevious owner converted the car to single piston calipers. unfortunately the car is equipped with the discontinued 2 piece rotors so i assume i'll need to replace these. either way i'm stoked. i'll be able to run my rare original 14x6 inch "HF" code stock steel disc brake wheels & new bfg tires that i just purchased. as a brake newbie i do have some questions.

1) how do i identify the specific year this set up is from so i can buy the "correct" rebuild parts? i think it's a '70 set up because the proportion valve looks exactly like the "one year" 1970 prop valve shown on supercarsunlimited website.

2) which parts are worth rebuilding myself? sending out for rebuild or replacing? do parts like prop valve & distribution block ever go bad? rebuild or replace original master cylinder & booster? steel brake lines replace or keep?

3) which online parts store are guys getting your parts from?

4) if i can turn the original 2 piece rotors are they worth keeping or better to replace them?

here are some pics of removal. i decided to remove the spindles with rotors & everything attached. i know some will disagree but opted *not* to use a spring compressor to remove the front coil springs. i just loosened castle nuts & used the BFH/pickle fork method. 3 swings everything came out easily. removal of all components took a little under 2hrs.