3900 mile '75 88

Search this Thread

Old May 6th, 2011, 06:18 PM

3900 mile '75 88

First off, this is my first post here. In the interest of full disclosure, I'm really more of a Mercury guy. But I'm here because there's a beautiful '75 Olds 88 4-door parked in my barn (it's really an over-sized garage) and I'm not sure what to do with it.

It belonged to my friend Jim, and sadly he recently passed away. I'm helping his family settle the estate, specifically the car. The Olds was his pride and joy. It's got just under 3,900 miles on it, and when he was still healthy enough, he loved taking it to the occasional car cruise. It's not perfect, and I'm no GM expert, but it's not far from perfect either.

It's a pale yellow with a brown vinyl top and orangish/brownish cloth interior. It's a 350 4-bbl, has an AM-FM radio, the "economy" gauge on the dash, and climate control (!) A/C. Crank windows and no power locks.

Over the years the tires and battery have been replaced, as well as I'm sure a few other odds and ends.

But the chrome is a little pitted on both bumpers, and for whatever reason the right front fender has been repainted. The re-spray is half a shade off, and has a tiny bit of overspray on the wheel molding.

His wife and daughters asked me if they should do anything to fix the car up before selling it.

Do you think its best to leave the fender as is, and let the buyer address it to their tastes? What about the chrome bumpers?

Overall, the car is very crisp and original, although the underhood area would really benefit from an experienced detailer's touch.

So, should they try to address any of these issues or just keep the car as honest as possible?

Thanks in advance,
Mercury guy.

Last edited by gpfarrell; May 7th, 2011 at 12:09 PM.
Old May 6th, 2011, 07:32 PM

Pics and location help a lot
Old May 7th, 2011, 06:12 AM

Originally Posted by Redog
Pics and location help a lot
Good point!

The car is about 15 minutes north of Pittsburgh, PA.