1969 Cutlass engine swap

Search this Thread

Old November 1st, 2015, 09:11 AM

1969 Cutlass engine swap

Hello
Thank you for taking time to read this. I am a newbie to this forum, so pardon if I have this posting in the the wrong category.
I have a 1969 Cutlass convertible with it's original 350 engine, it runs, but is in need of rebuild, having a weak cylinder.
I've had the car for several years, and have had the notion of swapping out the 350 for a 455 to gain more torque and some HP, and some time ago had acquired a 455 in pieces, a .030 over rebuild kit, and TH400 which I had rebuilt.
Just this past week I came across another 455 out of a 1973 Delta 98 hearse, that had only 49,000 miles on it, this motor was/is complete with everything ready to drop in the car, including a TH400 attached and it's 4 barrel carb'.
So here is/are my questions.
It's a "J" head motor, yes I know, but this car is not going to the race track, my plan is to put a set of Headman headers on the car and a dual exhaust.
Do I need to change the radiator from the 350 to the 455? I live in Ohio, and put less than 700 miles a year on the convertible.
And, from anyone who has put a 455 in a 1969 Cutlass, any tips, and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Again, my intention is only to have a car that will stick me back in my seat more, not to build a ground pounding torque machine, ( not that there is anything wrong with that ) having hardened valve seats is good, so, I am good with the J heads, at least for now. I would add, this is a budget build so you can understand a bit more where I am coming from.

Thank you.
Old November 1st, 2015, 09:39 AM
Administrator