Body work All body work discussion including vinyl tops

Floorpan replacement without braces, guidance plz

Search this Thread

Old November 13th, 2020, 08:31 PM

Floorpan replacement without braces, guidance plz

1971 Cutlass S here. All the foot wells, under the rear seat, and the transmission tunnel have enough pin holes or complete blowouts that they will need to go. The floor braces and the rocker panels are in great shape. The metal hump in between the rear seat foot wells and under the rear seat looks pretty good however. The body has been stripped and dipped so the condition of the metal is obvious. I am a noob however so my discernment is limited. So my questions if anyone would be so kind as to share their experience:
1. If I keep the braces in place, do I need to use any additional tubing to brace the body as I cut out the floor?
2. Any issues with a lap joint all the way around instead of a butt joint? Aside from an original look that is. That would be so much easier.
3. Anything to look out for if I get a floor pan without braces?
4. Would it be better to leave the original metal of the aforementioned hump and just patch around it? I like the idea of leaving as much original metal as possible.

Old November 14th, 2020, 05:38 AM

1. I think if the body is braced on a jig of some sort to support at front torque boxes and at rear at factory mounts and the braces remain then you may be ok? I would take measurements of everything possible to make sure it goes back together properly. It may be harder to separate floor from braces and still keep them intact?
2. I believe a lap joint would be fine and I believe that is the original method? Floor would have to go in from the bottom and the inner rockers are lapped over. A lot of disassembly just to access spot welds to remove floor.