Body work All body work discussion including vinyl tops

Can't find rear 1/4 patch panels, so....

Search this Thread

Old August 25th, 2013, 09:53 AM

Can't find rear 1/4 patch panels, so....

Hi guys,
I've been looking online for rear quarter patch panels for my 71 Cutlass Supreme but can't find anything in the way of a patch. I have some deep rust just behind the rear wheel mud flaps on both sides of the car. It's an awkward area and goes all the way to the wheel well so i don't think I can form sheet metal to match (not me, anyway). So here's what I was thinking (stay with me on this, I'm a sculptor by trade):
1.Fill the rust holes with clay and sculpt to match the contours.
2.Take a silicone and plaster mold of the area.
3. Cut out the rusted area (and a little beyond) and use flanging pliers to flange the remaining metal (creating a surface on which to join).
4. Using fiberglass cloth and epoxy, cast patch panels using the molds for an exact match.
5. Cut/grind/saw patch until it fits the metal flange.
6. Make sure there is plenty of clean metal for the joint.
7. Attach the patch panel using the same epoxy that was used to make the cast, building up the surface just a little.
8. Sand and prime.

I've spoken with a couple of epoxy manufacturers and they claim to have epoxies with the same expansion coefficient as sheet metal so cracking and separating shouldn't be a problem....but that will remain to be seen.
I sorta feel that by using this method, I'm eliminating a problem area for rust.
Thoughts?

Last edited by Macadoo; August 25th, 2013 at 09:55 AM.
Old August 25th, 2013, 04:06 PM

I friend of mine has both 1/4s and inner fenders cut off a rust free supreme he is selling
let me know if interested
Old August 25th, 2013, 05:25 PM

I only need about a six inch square on each lower quarter. Unless your friend is willing to cut it up.....but I doubt that. Thanks anyway.
Old August 25th, 2013, 05:56 PM