General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

timing/vacuum advance trouble, need help

Search this Thread

Old August 4th, 2012, 06:12 PM

timing/vacuum advance trouble, need help

my 62 Jetfire is to be sat at 10 degrees with the vacuum advance unhooked. i got that with no problem. now, with the vacuum advance hooked up and a 17 inch vacuum i should be at 10.5 to 13 degrees. i have 30. the jetfire with hydramatic transmission has the vacuum advance hook direct to manifold vacuum (not sure why). i can't see any way to adjust the vacuum advance? where do i go from here? i would rather not just unhook the vacuum advance but don't know how to fix this. i have no experience with the vacuum advance other than unhooking them. any help or ideas would be great.
Old August 4th, 2012, 07:11 PM

Interesting problem. I go through this all the time with my various projects. Just did it with my 80 Trans Am. Always end up on the internet checking to see correct hook up. I would bet your vacuum advance should be coming off a metered port on the front of the carb, driver's side. Probably part way up so you don't get full vacuum at idle. They often get changed over the years, so it's likely wrong the way you have it. Just check on Google, or whatever, and if you don't find your car, try another 62 GM with similar carb. I have to check constantly, as I play with so many cars, my old brain just won't retain the knowledge any more. If that fails, take the carb to your rebuild guy and ask him to point the correct port out for you.
Good luck.
Old August 4th, 2012, 07:19 PM

the 62/63 Jetfire is the only model of it's kind. it is Turbocharged with a 1 bbl side draft carburetor. the Oldsmobile Manual shows that all Jetfire with a automatic transmission is to be hooked to the intake vacuum. when it builds boost it will retard the advance back to 10 degrees.
Old August 4th, 2012, 07:30 PM