General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

my first rodeo

Search this Thread

Old August 16th, 2016 | 09:24 AM
Steve

my first rodeo

Hi all...I've registered my 72 W-30 for judging at the AACA Nationals in Hershey, Pa. on Oct. 8th. Entered in class 36G (70-75 Chevy/Olds performance). This is my first time even attending, let alone having a car judged. So I'm seeking any pointers/advice from those who have been through this. I've read through the rules, understand the importance of having the car clean throughout, and correct as possible. Wondering if there are some less than obvious things I should consider or be aware of.

As it sits right now there are only three significant items that are non-stock:

1) Halogen headlights (got a friend who has a set of T3s on a shelf that I can borrow for the show);

2) KONI shocks (love them for the handling improvement and don't really want to get rid of them...so maybe just paint them gray???, or is that not worth the effort?);

3) Petronix chip in the distributor (don't know if that's a big point deduction or not, but not really interested in changing it); Also, the distributor is a 1112033 instead of the correct 1112036 and the only part number not correct. Is it something they check?

Otherwise the car is correct inside and out as far as I've been able to tell and according to the assembly, chassis, and fisher body manuals I have for it. Not a 'concourse' level by any means (no paper tags, chalk marks, stamps) but as close as I can get it and still drive it.

Just thought it would be fun to go thru the experience at least once after all the years of work I put into the car.

I very much appreciate any advice, thoughts, or comments.
Old August 16th, 2016 | 06:36 PM