Back to the Basics - Bad running 455

Search this Thread

Old August 4th, 2011, 03:30 PM

Back to the Basics - Bad running 455

Hey Group,

Leaving that old Holley thread behind, and trying to start with the basics to sort out these rough running problems.

I believe there is a timing issue. But I am a novice weekend mechanic.

So, I have the distributor just to the right of No.1. The timing mark is on 12 degrees. From what I can tell it seems like cyl 1 is on tdc, but I am not 100% sure.

I was thinking I should turn the crank a bit so the timing mark is on 0, and then see where the cylinder is versus the distributor.

What is the best way to make sure everything is set up correctly from the ground up?

Thanks...TP
Old August 4th, 2011, 03:37 PM
Land Yacht Captain

Get a timing light so you are not guessing at the actual ignition timing.
Old August 4th, 2011, 04:08 PM

X2! The basics you mention are just to getting it statred so you can use a timing light. If it starts it's time for the light.

Don
Old August 4th, 2011, 04:59 PM

x3
Old August 5th, 2011, 09:10 PM

Ok cool. It starts so I put the timing light on it. The timing mark is coming up around 20-24 degrees. Its difficult to tell because its so far of the scale.

Also, when I accelerate the car the timing mark does not advance.
Old August 5th, 2011, 11:01 PM

Is the distributor HEI or the old points set up?
Old August 6th, 2011, 05:32 AM

You have to disconnect the vacuum advance first before you set the timing.then make sure your idle is set correctly then set your timing. Star at 12 degrees.
Old August 6th, 2011, 06:31 AM

Originally Posted by citcapp
You have to disconnect the vacuum advance first before you set the timing.
Make sure you you plug that vacuum line when you remove it. If you remove the hose at the distributor, I find a golf tee works well to plug the hose.
Old August 6th, 2011, 06:46 AM

I am using the MSD Pro Billet Distributor w/ a MSD blaster 2 coil.

I did have the vacuum advance off.