1955 Oldsmobile 98 Holiday Transmission Problems

Old May 9th, 2008, 11:23 AM

1955 Oldsmobile 98 Holiday Transmission Problems

I’m new to automatic transmissions and this old girl has a problem. She will not shift out of 1st gear at all. She goes into all gears like drive, reverse etc. but will not up shift. Recently, after the car has been running for a moment or two, I can hear a hissing sound coming form the transmission. Is there anyone out there that I can turn to for some really stupid questions regarding this car? I would like to get it a bit more mobile than it is now. Any help at all would be appreciated. I really know nothing about automatics. I have a service manual for the car but I need some help to get started. Thanks!
-Kevin
Old May 12th, 2008, 07:16 AM

No one knows anything about this type of problem? Help, Help!!!!!
Old May 12th, 2008, 07:38 AM
Old(s) Fart

Unfortunately most of us are not well versed in the early Hydramatics. A few on this site do have the experience and I'm hoping they will join in now that the weekend is over.
Old May 12th, 2008, 01:54 PM

Thanks Joe i have had a very hard time finding out info on this car. I hope someone can help.
Old May 12th, 2008, 05:49 PM

I'm no expert either, but to me the hissing sounds like its a vacuum leak. Alot of Auto's use vacuum to change so I would start looking in your manual to see what hookup there is for shifting up a gear? I would also get under the car and start looking for rubber hoses that aren't where their suppose to be. And or, a barb coming off the Auto without a hose attached.

That being, that you havent already done this?

what exactly have you done? that might help sort out where your up to.
Old May 12th, 2008, 07:55 PM