building an engine test stand

Search this Thread

Old March 22nd, 2014, 11:39 AM
major noob

building an engine test stand

Hey guys as I get closer to assembling my engine I'll need to test it afterwards so I need help I wanna build me an engine test stand so I can tune etc when its finished. I've heard around that you guys have done this before and want to know how to build me a decent budget friendly stand
Old March 22nd, 2014, 12:19 PM

Budget?
Front 5 ft of a parts car's frame and radiator support!
Bedframe angle iron for supports as needed.
Old March 22nd, 2014, 12:20 PM
major noob

Haha ok can I do it outta lumber dad has a few 6x6s and some other wood
Old March 23rd, 2014, 06:09 AM
major noob

Can I build onto my engine stand with the lumber? Any help is greatly appreciated I'm pretty crafty with wood so I believe I can do this
Old March 23rd, 2014, 07:03 AM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Bill, I have not done this, so I am not an expert by any means, but if you want to make a run stand, your best bet will be to make it as low as possible, and make it take the weight of the engine at or in the area of the motor mounts.

The higher the center of gravity, the harder it will be to make a stand that is stable, and while it is theoretically possible to shore up an engine stand, doing it properly would be much harder.

Since you want to use heavy lumber, I would recommend making a cradle to hold the block like the frame of the car does, possibly even with a pair of Olds frame mounts sourced from a junk car, or with the ones you plan to use when installing the engine in your car. I would build it so it would hold the oil pan an inch or two off the ground, and make its primary structure out of cross-pieces that stick out a good distance on either side, to prevent the engine from rolling over, which it may want to do. It won't want to move front-to-back on you, only side to side.
Be sure to leave room for exhaust pipes with mufflers.

- Eric
Old March 23rd, 2014, 07:34 AM