Hey guys! Looking for home garage simple mods

Search this Thread

Old April 3rd, 2014, 12:50 PM

Hey guys! Looking for home garage simple mods

Howdy, Jim here in Central Minnesota

just joined to interact with other Olds lovers. Have a 63 98 w/ 394 Rocket and I love the car.

I am interested in easy, benchtop / home garage mods that you guys may have done that worked well and either added to the looks or performance for a street rod. I dont currently intend to race it on the strip (or on the streets, either) but I will enjoy making it look and run great.

I am not really a good mechanic but I love diving in and tackling jobs that will have great end results. The body was partially repaired but its still in that non-matching panels with a couple others with partially repaired spots. The interior is near mint and it starts runs and drives like a brand new car!

I need to get under the car and ID the gear ratio so I know what I have to work with. I took all 4 of the original hubcaps off so they don't spin off into the ditch somewhere, in the event that someone were to accidentally put the gas pedal thru the firewall at a stoplight...

I have talked to some guys that used these motors in their race cars and have NOTHING but good to say about the 394, and from what I can see, its a lot of motor with a whole heck of a lot of potential!

Happy to be here and look forward to hearing what you guys have done to your Olds's!
Old April 3rd, 2014, 02:06 PM
same but different

Welcome Jim. I'm not into the older models much. I have heard the same about the 394. It was THE engine in its day.

With that said, I'm sure it would respond to many of the things we still do today to our engines. I know that's not much help. Sounds like you have a good running engine now.
Old April 3rd, 2014, 02:19 PM

welcome to classic olds from another guy hooked on 63 98's
we need pictures so we know what you have to work with ( I just like pictures of other 63 98's)
Steve