1959 Oldsmobile Super 88 4 Door Sedan Back from the dead - Help!

Search this Thread

Old June 8th, 2020, 10:19 AM

1959 Oldsmobile Super 88 4 Door Sedan Back from the dead - Help!

Hi,

I just got myself a project car that was delivered from Minnesota, a 1959 Oldsmobile Super 88 4 Door Sedan. This is my first time ever restoring a car, and I am going to lean on your guidance and experience to help me. I fell in love with this car, and it's going to be the summer project for me and my two sons.

I just did a once over with the car and here are her needs and don't needs thus far - the good, the bad and the ugly:

The good:
1. The frame is in great shape from what it looks like
2. The body except for the rear quarter panels is in good shape
3. the glass (aside from the window) seems to be in good shape
4. All the Chrome is there and decent shape
5. The car was retired early with only 14,000 miles on it

Now the bad and the ugly:
1. The driver's floor pan is completely rusted out, the passenger side floor board and the rear drivers and passenger side have holes in them. The trunk pan is pretty much gone as well.
2. The Windshield is cracked and will need replacing
3. The engine is not functional. The 394 looks like it was having problems and the heads are in the trunk which we can't open.
4. Rust on the rear quarter panels, should I look for patch panels and weld, or maybe a cheap repair like bondo or glass?
5. The brakes don't work, I have to diagnose
6. The seals on the back window and possibly the front window are shot. Is there a way to repair this or should I just get new seals/weatherstripping/gaskets and take them out and put them in?
7. Interior is trashed. Seats have mice nests, chewed up. I need to reupholster them. Also, I need to recondition the dash and instrument cluster.
8. The door panels need to be redone.
9. Rust treatment and paint. She was once red, but I have to get all the rust of of her
10. The gas tank is rusted through.