General Questions Place to post your questions that don't fit into one of the specific forums below.

Pre 71 gas additives

Search this Thread

Old February 20th, 2009, 06:29 AM

Pre 71 gas additives

I have reviewed prior posts, but do not see a consensus on fuel additives for pre 71 cars. What additives are you using to compensate for unleaded fuel? Are you using substitutes or adding lead? Any and all opinions welcome.
Old February 20th, 2009, 07:06 AM

The recurring comment I have seen is that the seats have a high enough nickle content to survive using the unleaded gas. I am not an expert, but from what I have read, and from personal experience, in unmodified cars, I would not worry about it. Most of it seems to be snake oil any way from the bit of reading I have done on the topic. If others have found, or are using a good product they will chime in.
Old February 20th, 2009, 07:25 AM

I always use the highest octane, and just recently started throwing in a bottle of Marvel Mystery oil.
Old February 20th, 2009, 07:33 AM
Seasoned beater pilot.

I use 93 with lead additive.
What Chicago suburb are you in?
If you're near a Meijer grocery store they usually have huge bottles of it for cheap because no one ever buys it.
Chances are your heads will be ok, but since they're not making any more heads, and they're not getting cheaper, I like the added insurance that I'm not beating on my seats. I beat the snot out of my car fairly often.

Last edited by J-(Chicago); February 20th, 2009 at 07:35 AM.
Old February 20th, 2009, 10:14 AM

If you rebuild the heads make sure you use hardened valve seats.
Old February 20th, 2009, 11:03 AM

I have a 69 442 ,and I always use a lead substitute,plus once in awhile I throw in a bottle of octane booster. I always use premium. Personally, I have noticed a difference in the way my car runs. I have read that unless the valves have been replaced, then an additive should be used.
Old February 20th, 2009, 11:13 AM