The Clubhouse Place to chat about whatever's on your mind - doesn't have to be car related. NO POLITICS OR RELIGIOUS DISCUSSION ALLOWED.

Is everyone getting bad tempered lately?.

Search this Thread

Old July 28th, 2014, 12:27 PM
'87 Delta 88 Royale

Is everyone getting bad tempered lately?.

I have been checking out this forum regularly for a few years now, occasionally posting a request for help, an opinion about something or other, or responding to someone else's request for help.

But just lately several threads have degenerated into mutual flaming and sadly profanity on one occasion at least. mostly because there have been differences of opinion about the best way to tackle a job, or the merits of a particular car.
The moderators have in my view done a good job in letting us vent, stepping in to delete obscenities but not acting as the thought police.
I bet if we met some of the posters face to face instead of in cyberspace we would conduct ourselves in a much more dignified and polite manner.

We all have different viewpoints on a lot Oldsmobile related subjects. Sometimes our ideas about how to fix something may be wrong, or right, or quite often our way works but so do other ways of putting something right.
We might feel pissed because our advice is ignored, or we are told we are wrong, but if that is the case GET OFF THE THREAD, otherwise we risk a flame war or accusations of trolling. No one is helped by this and we risk being alienated from the good people here who try hard to offer help and advice to Oldsmobile enthusiasts.

Some of the people involved in this have been people whose opinions I value, and have given me useful help with fixing my car or broadening my knowledge about Oldsmobiles.
Sometimes a post may simply be misinterpreted, rarely a post might be a deliberate attempt to wind people up, often we don't have the full story behind a thread and our replies seem inappropriate to the OP.