toronado ring and pinion

Search this Thread

Old July 19th, 2007, 10:08 PM

toronado ring and pinion

Hello there, I'm new to this whole forum thingy so please bear with me.
My brother recently completed a sandrail utilizing an Olds toronado 455 and transaxle.
I understand that there were a number of different front drive motorhomes made with this combo using I believe a 5.13, or something like that, ring and pinion.
With the paddle tires being quite a bit larger than on the car, the stock gearing is way to tall.
How much more difficult is it to change the gearing in the transaxle compared to a normal rearend?

http://www.geocities.com/rkusiek/Sandrail.html
Old July 20th, 2007, 07:56 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by brian j combs
My brother recently completed a sandrail utilizing an Olds toronado 455 and transaxle.
I understand that there were a number of different front drive motorhomes made with this combo using I believe a 5.13, or something like that, ring and pinion.
With the paddle tires being quite a bit larger than on the car, the stock gearing is way to tall.
How much more difficult is it to change the gearing in the transaxle compared to a normal rearend?

As you probably know, the diff housing unbolts from the rest of the transaxle, making it easy to work on. You do need a case spreader to get the carrier out. These show up on ebay every so often. I'm not aware of gear sets any steeper than mid-3s. Certainly there were no such factory gear sets, even in the motorhomes. There IS quite a following of the GMC Toro-based motorhomes, so there may be aftermarket gears available. I seriously doubt, however, that a motorhome with a 455 Olds would be able to use a 5.13 gear set. Depending on tire size, you'd really be winding that big block on the freeway.
Old August 10th, 2007, 09:34 PM

Originally Posted by brian j combs