2000 silhouette power sliding door.

Old May 7th, 2009, 04:28 PM

2000 silhouette power sliding door.

has anyone changed the power motor for there sliding door? i have the factory book for it and i have to take all the inside back quarter panel off. it started to goof up on us yesterday and is working now so i expect it to go any time. i just hope i don't break any interior trim, I'm not good at removing the newer stuff.
Old May 11th, 2009, 03:59 AM

Wifey's slider has been acting up for about a year... sometimes works, other times not. Shop manual has a reset procedure write up, a combination of switches and actions gets the "reset" done, (it didn't resolve).

I'll likely be doing this job someday too.
Old May 11th, 2009, 03:28 PM

i done the reset procedure and is working now but not expecting it to last. the dealership just told there is an outstanding recall on this door for my van. i am thinking i will have whatever it is done and just hope that it also fixes my problem.
Old June 27th, 2009, 09:34 AM

Alright, I’m here on vacation and finally time to work the little problems…

The power slider has been intermittent, and without warning one day, stopped working. Electronic reset did not work. You can hear the solenoids working, but no door activity. Also, manually trying to open was a NOGO.

Here’s what I found: removal of the interior door panel while closed, (yeah, that was a treat, but do’able). Linkage all seamed good, as were the adjustments, found nothing loose. What I did discover was two (2) latching assemblies, one to the front, one to the rear of the door. Front was working OK. The rear is actuated by a long linkage rod… it was not getting enough pull. A little tug on this linkage rod while operating handle and off she went.