ClassicOldsmobile.com  

Go Back   ClassicOldsmobile.com > Vehicle Lineup > Others
Forums Gallery Encyclopedia Tech Olds Junction Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2006, 06:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
decodethis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Universal Classic Car VIN Decoder

Decode This! is a web site dedicated to providing a single source of VIN information for the classic and collectible car hobbies. So far we've added a ton of VIN patterns that can be decoded, including:

1953-1974 Corvettes
1967-1971 Camaros
1967-1971 Pontiac Firebird
1960-1969 Chevrolets
1960-1961 Cadillacs
1960-1966 Oldsmobiles
1965-1973 Mustangs
1960-1969 Fords
1966-1970 Chryslers
1960-1961 DeSoto

And we're adding more every week (working on Oldsmobiles right now).

We've added the Flickr images to the decoding, allowing you to see other people's prides and joys, as well as finding some awesome pictures of your favorite cars.

Add the decoding function to your Google Toolbar to allow decoding any VIN on a web page with a single button!

Stop on by and see all of the new features added to the site (it's hard to believe it was only October when I launched the thing. It's grown beyond my original concept) and please make comments on what you'd like to see added.

Richard Brown
info@decodethis.com
decodethis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-21-2006, 08:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Oldsguy
Administrator
 
Oldsguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Lees Summit MO
Posts: 2,520
Well guys, we wanna keep this thread or not? The info looks usefull but not sure since it is really a link to someplace admin may not want. I dunno.......help me out here.
__________________
Dan
'46 2 door
Oldsguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 10:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
decodethis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Sorry, didn't mean to cause trouble. I'm just spreading word about the site. As I start to work on a particular make I try to reach out to that community and have them "stress test" my data. There's a lot of data entry to do and I want to make sure it's all as accurate as possible.

Right now I'm working on Oldsmobiles, having gotten 1960 through 1966 in I'm starting to work on the harder years (1966 on are the years Olds integrates into GM's "new" VIN format) and it's nice to have a safety check in that I've got it right.

I just didn't know where else to drop a line here.

Regards,

Richard
info@decodethis.com
decodethis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 12:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Oldsguy
Administrator
 
Oldsguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Lees Summit MO
Posts: 2,520
No problem, let's see what the guys think.


GUYS?????
__________________
Dan
'46 2 door
Oldsguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 02:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
66starfire
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 61
hey it got my VIN correct so, Ok in my book prolly. Although it DOES look a bit shady hahah. But it worked..
66starfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 05:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
decodethis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
I'm curious, but why does it look shady? The service is free, without trying to sell you something, or even sign up for a mailing list. Hardly shady in my book. Still, I don't want to leave a bad taste in someone's mouth if it can be avoided. I wrote the application myself because I was tired of hunting down a working VIN decoder for my '69 Mustang. I noticed that there wasn't any ONE place to go to get a VIN decoded, and some models weren't even available.

Me being a programmer and not a bolt-turner wanted to make my contribution to the hobby.

Richard
decodethis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 09:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
66starfire
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 61
not saying nothing against it, as I said it got my VIN correct.

just the FORMAT looks...well...a bit shady! with all the google ads on the left side bar its in the same format as almost 99% of the shadarific sites that try to get you to buy things or send trojans or tracking cookies to get info. Im just saying it LOOKS shady, not that it is. Maybe id say work on the color scheme/layout a bit mroe, then it woul be all good in my book.
66starfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 04:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
keith6989
2Blue 55"
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 377
Hi thought the site was great, i didn't think It looked shady, it was a great idea to advertise on this site, I think we should welcome advertisements to gain more knoledge of what is out there.
__________________
Robert
1955 Oldsmobile Super 88
keith6989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0
All content Copyright © 2008 by Internet Brands, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34