The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

64 Tilt Column Turn Signal Issues.

Search this Thread

Old August 14th, 2009, 10:56 AM

Hello,
I am new to ClassicOldsmobile.com. I have a 1964 Starfire fully restored that went senior at the Seattle Nationals. Really want to keep it as original as possible. Unfortunately, the Bowden cable that actuates the turning signal switch (includes cornering lamps) is broken. I have been unsuccessful in locating a replacement cable. The wire is .030 running through a .122 sheath. I am told that the wire is about the same thickness as aircraft safety wire -- don't know where to get that. Also, I need to find a sheath. The clamps on either end can be reused. I would appreciate any and all assistance.
Thanks.
Old August 17th, 2009, 02:04 AM

Year one has the cable assy, I used .040 stainless safty wire but the distence from end to end is critical (no adjustments) and a little stiff even with cable lube
Old August 17th, 2009, 05:50 AM
Past Administrator

Welcome to CO and hope you get the signal fixed.
Old August 17th, 2009, 07:14 AM

Talking Welcome to CO

Post some pictures of the car please
Old August 17th, 2009, 12:10 PM

Thanks to Oldstrio for the suggestions. I had looked at Year One earlier and missed the cable. Your prompt helped me find it. I did make a cable from a .047 choke cable wire inside a length of electrical insulation. It works but not as well as I would like primarily, as you correctly note, the length between coil centerlines is critical. I think I will order a couple of the cables from Year One which should take care of my problem.

I am going to try to attach a few pics of my Starfire. Hope it works.

Starfire Fan
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
64 Starfire.jpg (30.3 KB, 34 views)
BOP Picnic Trophy.jpg (37.7 KB, 20 views)
BOP Picnic #2.jpg (39.3 KB, 20 views)
BOP Picnic #3.jpg (37.4 KB, 16 views)
Old August 17th, 2009, 12:42 PM