DIY Interior install

Search this Thread

Old March 8th, 2012, 08:17 PM

DIY Interior install

Like everyone else, I'm on a resto budget.

I m looking to recover my 72 442's buckets and rear bench only at this point.

Both buckets need springs and foam for sure. If I buy the things I need from Legendary, could I do this job myself or is there a special skill to rebuilding the seats from inside out?

I'm pretty handy mechanically but I've never done sets before.....

So is this a definite 'take it to the shop' item r a DIY job?
Old March 8th, 2012, 08:58 PM

Rears you can definitely do yourself.
Front buckets are not easy. I tried.
Spring repair requires the right tools and skills as well as proper padding.

I got one of the bottoms done, but the tops are hard.
I paid an interior shop to finish the job.the bottom they did was cushioned
properly....mine not as good.
Old March 8th, 2012, 09:02 PM

Here is a good episode of gears with stacey david that goes over interior installation it may help. http://staceydavid.com/episodes/drag...ilding-contest
Old March 8th, 2012, 09:14 PM

Thanks guys.

I'm searching the threads and have seen some pics of stripped down seats....scary!

I have added up sets, springs, headliner, carpet, seat material w headrests and ouch I'm up over 1,600 from Legendary. I want to do it up right tho so....

Guess I'll debate it awhile for doing the rear but I might as well take it all in and have them do it for the trouble it's worth to me!
Old March 8th, 2012, 09:18 PM
Ben

Originally Posted by Hot 442
Like everyone else, I'm on a resto budget.

I m looking to recover my 72 442's buckets and rear bench only at this point.

Both buckets need springs and foam for sure. If I buy the things I need from Legendary, could I do this job myself or is there a special skill to rebuilding the seats from inside out?

I'm pretty handy mechanically but I've never done sets before.....

So is this a definite 'take it to the shop' item r a DIY job?