Body work All body work discussion including vinyl tops

frame rusty but not gone!

Search this Thread

Old March 16th, 2009, 12:20 PM
Just A BaBy {:

frame rusty but not gone!

Well i have my 85 salon an I have a bit of a prop with rust.The person i got this from had this car sit for over 3 1/2 years so there is a good amount of rust on the under belly of this car.The floors have NO rust butt every thing els does.I went under the car yesterday an start banging on the frame an all and found no soft spots just a lot of surface rust.......I don't want to take the car off the frame cuz i want to drive an fix the car if you know what i mean.So would sand blasting help me with this prop or would i need to remove the car from frame?
Old March 16th, 2009, 12:45 PM

what do you plan to do with it? if you just want to keep it as a driver i would just try to brush off as much as you can and just get about 10 cans of rubberized undercoat and spray it the way it is. sand blasting would not be a good idea if you were not taking it apart. if you sand blast it you will have to get an etching primer and if you missed a spot that was blasted you will have it rust 2 times faster. someone may give better advice but just giving my 2 cents.
Old March 16th, 2009, 01:20 PM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by jensenracing77
what do you plan to do with it? if you just want to keep it as a driver i would just try to brush off as much as you can and just get about 10 cans of rubberized undercoat and spray it the way it is. sand blasting would not be a good idea if you were not taking it apart. if you sand blast it you will have to get an etching primer and if you missed a spot that was blasted you will have it rust 2 times faster. someone may give better advice but just giving my 2 cents.
Rather than undercoat, I would strongly suggest POR-15 or a similar coating. These rust conversion coatings actually bond to the rust and convert it chemically. Undercoating simply retains moisture.