Engine overheating problem

Search this Thread

Old August 1st, 2007, 10:00 PM

Engine overheating problem

I am new to big blocks and there heat problems. When the engine is first coold it runs will, as soon as it gets hot it starts pinging real bad and i can't get it to stop. i tried adjusting the timing, no good. i installed a hotter platinum spark plug, no good. i don't know how hot it is getting bc i don't have a temp gauge yet, installing it tomorrow to see how hot she is getting. The 455 is pretty stock, I have tried to repair most all the sins of the PO and under the hood most everything is stock. it does have later model HEI. sorry for the long post, just wanted to get all the facts strt.

I also have another problem. My torque converter is knocking. i checked the bolts and none were loose and i don't see any cracks. but the noise is definitely coming from the converter. does not matter if it is warm or cold. at idle there is just a low dull knock knock sound coming from the converter.

thanks for any help you may have. Mark
Old August 2nd, 2007, 06:42 AM

A crack in flexplate is hard to see at times but surely will cause knocking down there. The crack opens when the engine is turning....look closely at that and also trans to engine bolts. My trans bolts to block were loose once and the torque converter was hitting the housing. As for engine temp you need a gauge, still seems like a timing issue. Try some octane boost and premium fuel. If engine temp is too high check thermostat and radiator condition.
Old August 2nd, 2007, 10:23 AM

we installed the temp gauge and the engine went to 230. we removed the thermostat and it went down to 190? so any ideas?

as for the TC. we don't see any cracks, but as you said could be only visible at speed. is the TC supposed to wobble so to speak? if i put a tool against the TC it is definitely not running true? the knocking sound is loudest at the TC/flex so that is why i think it is coming from there. thanks