Shifter linkage and identification

Search this Thread

Old December 25th, 2017, 02:55 PM

Shifter linkage and identification

Hey everyone... hope you all had a nice Christmas! I set my engine in the frame of my 65 442 yesterday, put the flywheel and clutch on. I set the 4 speed Muncie on the bench and set the shifter in place but I don't seem to have the linkage for it. I was reading some about changing it to a Hurst shifter but I wanted to get some advice on here first on what direction to go. Turns i have 2 shifter handles. I was wondering what the difference was in the 2. I will attach some pics. Any insight would be great thanks...Tom
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
KIMG0182.JPG (1.78 MB, 40 views)
KIMG0184.JPG (1.93 MB, 39 views)
Old December 26th, 2017, 03:45 AM

Tom, I'm not an expert on '65s but the same 4spd console was used thru 1969. Since the shifter opening was offset to the drivers side the shifter used a straight stick like the one on the right in your pic. I've never seen one with a bend in the stick until '70 when the console opening was in the center. Someone may have heated & bent the other one you have for some other vehicle?? or maybe a bench seat car got a different lever?? As far as linkage goes most of the chevy places like Ecklers plus the parts place have repop linkage kits for muncie shifters. The parts place has a kit for '64-7 chevelles for $89. The better choice if you're not doing a totally correct factory resto would be to try to get a much better Hurst shifter for a '66-9. The shifter stick on '66s was a one year only as it was flat all the way up to the ball threads like the muncie sticks that you have. The '67-9 shifters will work also but the sticks were tapered at the top like the one in the pic of my '68 setup.
Attached Images
olds 442 winter 2012-13 054.jpg (471.2 KB, 35 views)
Old December 26th, 2017, 06:59 AM
Old(s) Fart