Thinking about transmission rebuild..

Old July 18th, 2015, 10:24 AM

Thinking about transmission rebuild..

1985 delta 88

So I'm thinking about trying to rebuild my automatic transmission myself. I'm no mechanic but Im somewhat handy. And my friend who is a mechanic is going to help.
Anybody out there have experience rebuilding transmission? It has overdrive, Idk if that makes a rebuild any different. Is there any special tools I would need? And is there a manual or something available for that? Im pretty scared about doing it but I want to be able to say that I can rebuild a transmission! And is there a kit or something with all the parts to do the rebuild? If so, where do you guys recommend I get it from? THANKS!

Last edited by Copper Nine Eight; July 18th, 2015 at 10:26 AM.
Old July 18th, 2015, 11:16 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by WB8588
1985 delta 88

So I'm thinking about trying to rebuild my automatic transmission myself. I'm no mechanic but Im somewhat handy. And my friend who is a mechanic is going to help.
Anybody out there have experience rebuilding transmission? It has overdrive, Idk if that makes a rebuild any different. Is there any special tools I would need? And is there a manual or something available for that? Im pretty scared about doing it but I want to be able to say that I can rebuild a transmission! And is there a kit or something with all the parts to do the rebuild? If so, where do you guys recommend I get it from? THANKS!
I'm assuming your 85 has a 200-4R? If so, this is probably not a project for the first-time trans rebuilder. The 200-4R requires some specialized tools or else special techniques to get around using the factory tools. If you have your heart set on it, I would spend the $80 and buy the 200-4R rebuild and modification manual from CKPerfromance. This will give you a much better idea of both the effort involved and the techniques and tools required for this particular trans.
Old July 18th, 2015, 03:38 PM