Trans pan gasket preferences

Search this Thread

Old June 23rd, 2011, 07:27 PM
1974 DELTA 88

Trans pan gasket preferences

What do you all prefer for transmission pan gasket material? I'm getting ready to replace the pan (for a newer one with drain plug), gasket, filter and some o-rings here soon. I've found the cork and neoprene gasket available. I have no experience with the neoprene gaskets, anyone here use them with good results?
Old June 24th, 2011, 04:42 AM

I changed the transmission fluid just last weekend on my '73 Custom Cruiser. I just used the $6.99 Felpro gasket from Autozone (their part number TOS18621 for the THM 400). It's neoprene (I'm assuming, as it certainly didn't appear to be cork), and it works just fine. I'd get that (or the one for the THM 350, if that's the transmission you have...it's $1.00 less).
Old June 24th, 2011, 07:37 AM
1974 DELTA 88

Thanks for the input, I have been leaning toward the neoprene also.

I may use the one that comes with this filter if it doesn't look like garbage.

https://www.napaonline.com/Catalog/C...+50052+2052006
Old June 24th, 2011, 07:45 AM

That looks just like the one I put on my car.

I wouldn't worry too much about this. It's not like these gaskets are under some undue stress under there. I've changed the transmission fluid several times on different cars over the last several decades, and I've never given a second thought to the gasket. I just buy the one at the store and put it on and be done with it. I've never had leaks that had anything to do with the quality of the gasket material. It's more likely to be improperly or unevenly tightened bolts or mating surfaces that were not cleaned enough of old residue before the new gasket was put on. Whenever I've taken the pan down and changed the fluid, it was only because enough miles and time had elapsed that it was time to change it.