Tech Editor's Desk Projects, papers, writings, thoughts, musings of our technical editor Joe Padavano. To begin with, he will be making threads and can approve posts to it if he wishes. This can be changed in the future if it does not work out well.

350 intake gasket

Search this Thread

Old July 28th, 2012, 04:10 PM

350 intake gasket

Hi, I have worked on many Olds V8 engines back in the day when I was a mechanic and never had any problems with the standard "turkey tray" fel-pro gasket. I rebuilt the 350 in my 71 Cutlass in about 1997 with no problems. When I decided to change cams in the Cutlass last year I started having problems. I had a big vacuum leak on the right rear of the intake. I chaulked it up to not being carefull enough and re did it. Sure enough when apart I found the "divit" was crushed. So I got another fel-pro gasket and was very carefull installing. When putting together I could see the divits wouldnt all fit at once and had to grind one to make all 4 fit flat. Yep you guessed it I still apparently have a intake leak thru the bottom because I cant notice any difference w/spraying start fluid around top of intake. But idle is rough and cyls 6 and 8 plugs are white(lean). Now looking at all the posts apparently I'm not the only 1 having problems. Is there another manufacturer of the gasket? Maybe go to dealer and get a GM one? (if still available)Let me know what you think. Thanks Greg.
Old July 28th, 2012, 04:25 PM
Administrator

This has been a problem for many years, they are stamped wrong! You have to do basically what you did. And make sure to use RTV around the ports as per the instructions. I've always been careful and test fit prior to putting on the RTV just as you did. Some people throw away the china wall seals and use a good bead of RTV there. I prefer the rubbers. I also like to have a buddy help me place the manifold on as that bastid weighs a ton and is hard to manhandle.