Ryan Weaver 1969 W-31 350 SBO engine build

Search this Thread

Old March 13th, 2016, 05:25 PM

Ryan Weaver 1969 W-31 350 SBO engine build

Hello ClassicOldsmobile.com Engine gurus.

I am completing a chassis restoration on my 1969 Oldsmobile Cutlass 'S' Sports Coupe W-31, 4 speed M20, 3.42 Antispin rear.

I have documented every step in a build thread on yenko.net (Sorry I used to be a Chevelle guy:-) if you wish to catch up on my thread please do.

http://www.yenko.net/ubbthreads/ubbt...opics/650037/1

I am fast approaching the point in my Chassis restoration at which point my chassis will require motivation:-)

I have read LOTS of online Oldsmobile "SBO" engine information, some old, some new, some accurate some I am sure 100% inaccurate. I always feel this is step one towards a successful outcome of a project to understand the basics.

I am an amateur, this is my first time doing most things car related, so I welcome support as I work through item after item, detail after detail.

All good projects start with clear goals:

This portion of the build (intake to oil pan, flywheel to Harmonic Balancer/timing chain cover) needs to be "cost effective" ........ I know for a fact I just lost half my audience:-(

W-31 Original parts that must be used:

OAI breather, etc. (could use a performance element)
Carburetor
Intake
Distributor (changed to solid state upgrade) Pertronix etc.
Water pump, and KA/KB pulleys, etc. (no power steering, YUK)
Harmonic balancer
Fly wheel
Nodular Cast Iron Crank
Warranty SR block (missing one piston and rod, sat partially disassembled for years)
Original W-31 heads (they are in terrible shape, rusted combustion chambers)
Oil Pan, timing chain cover, valve covers, etc.
Cast Exhaust manifolds, with block off plate for cross over.
M-20 Muncie 4 speed, completely rebuilt:-)
Luk Diaphram clutch/pressure plate new :-)
TM code 3.42 anti spin rear end, (I have all the parts to rebuild)
H shifter handle, and ball, and boot:-)

W-31 Not Original: