350 Rocket vs Hemi

Search this Thread

Old September 25th, 2012, 02:53 PM

350 Rocket vs Hemi

Just had a thought and was curious. Would a 350 Rocket have to be extremely beefed up in order to compete with a newer V8 Charger, Cobra Mustang or SS Camaro? I have limited knowledge on engines (I'm a body man) and just wondered how much work would need to be done to get a 350 to that level. I believe the Hemi is 390 HP, 426 HP in Camaro SS, and 430 in the Cobra Mustang GT.
Old September 25th, 2012, 02:56 PM

maybe 400 horses at the flywheel....

Going downhill...

with a good tailwind...

Talk to coppercutlass, he's got a 350 that could probably make the "new kids" cry all the way home to mommy.
Old September 25th, 2012, 03:10 PM
Ben

You pretty much answered your own question.

HP+weight vs HP+Weight = one car will be faster.

And no matter how much you build up a Rocket 350, one could also equally build up those modern engines too.

But in the end it really doesn't matter which is faster. There are a bunch of cars available on the showroom floor (or even used car lots) today that are faster, better handling, more compfortable than our classics.

On any given drive in to work, I see a couple dozen examples of all those new cars that could eat mine for breakfast- But the only one that would cause me to take notice (and a lot of other people) is if it were a real classic muscle car driving down the freeway instead.

Anybody can go into a dealership and buy one of those new cars and drive it.
NOT everybody can build & maintain a classic car & drive it.

Last edited by RAMBOW; September 25th, 2012 at 04:08 PM.
Old September 25th, 2012, 03:34 PM

In the book how to make your muscle car handle Mark form scandc talks about
how the new cars out weigh the older cars with the right parts to correct some of Gm's miss's the a body's can run with the newer car .
Old September 25th, 2012, 04:04 PM