Voltage Reg. Upgrade... (Very Covered Topic)

Search this Thread

Old May 19th, 2016, 09:39 PM

Smile Voltage Reg. Upgrade... (Very Covered Topic)

Voltage regulator is buzzing randomly, and lights are flickering bad enough to where it looks like I'm purposely doing it..... I've got great voltage readings, and from reading ALL the similar post here on this site, I'm going to just install a Wells VR175 (solid state regulator). Currently, I'm running an HEI, and somebody's knowledge convinced me the solid state upgrade is what's best for my setup, so this is why the Wells VR175 choice.

I'm an awesome mechanic, if I can get a thorough explanation / understanding of an unknown procedure, like converting to a 1-wire alternator, and converting the wiring that goes to the existing Voltage regulator..... if anyone has the time... or a link..... ?

Also, I installed my engine when I was a lot younger, and back then, I may have thought a ground strap was something unnecessary, or even stupid. I would like to double check the locations of the ones in the engine compartment, or fender / radiator support / front frame area, if any one knows...
Its a 1972 Cutlass Supreme, 350 /350

Thanks
Old May 20th, 2016, 06:27 AM
Old(s) Fart

Step away from the one-wire alternator...

Seriously, there's no reason to do that. One wire alternators were designed for construction and ag equipment that tend to run at a constant RPM. The voltage regulator typically does not turn on until RPMs exceed 1500, so you won't charge at idle. The three wires are already in the harness, why mess with it.

I don't know anything about a VR175 - first I've heard of it. Many vendors sell plug-in replacement regulators for your current external unit. P/N D9212 is one of many available.

If you want to upgrade your alternator to an internal regulator design, simply Google 12SI wiring diagram, where you'll get this diagram: