Considering EFI

Old August 15th, 2015, 04:21 PM

Considering EFI

Howdy! I have a question/looking for opinions. For starters, I’m not a mechanic and don’t pretend to know the ins and outs of engine building, but am trying desperately to learn. I have a 1970 Olds 442 with a nice running 1969 dated 455. I also have a 1974 dated block that I intend to build to some pretty high specs and am considering going the EFI route.

I plan on some street time (Sunday cruses, occasional trip to the drive-in, local car shows, etc…) and strip time. I’m using Bill Trovato’s book and this site heavily as a reference.

I bought the 74 block bored .60 over & decked on Racing Junk. I have the Eagle stroker crank and rods with L19 rod bolts to make a 496 stroker, I plan on using a Rocket Racing full girdle and main caps to make for a pretty solid bottom end. I have Edelbrock heads (ported), HS Roller Rockers, Edelbrock RPM Air-Gap and Torker intake manifolds (not sure which I’ll go with), AHR 2” Headers, Melling HV oil pump, Holley HP electric fuel pump & RobbMC ½” sending unit, FlowKooler HV water pump & March Performance Ultra Serpentine kit (I know it doesn’t add much if anything, but I think they look good), MSD distributer, 6AL box & Blaster 2 coil and a lot of other small stuff and suspension parts I won’t go into detail on unless someone needs more info.

Not sure what Cam I will go with, I figured once I was ready and started the build, I would ask CutlassEFI for suggestions and/or maybe a custom built cam, I know from reading these forums for years that he really knows what he’s doing.

I currently have a Holley Ultra HP 850 carb but, was actually thinking about going with Bill Trovato’s suggestion of a Holley 1050. My other thought is going with a FAST EFI 2.0 set-up or maybe some other EFI configuration. I know they cost $ but I’m willing to take my time and do this right! It’s already about 4 years in the making; a little more patience will hopefully be worth the reward.