High Performance pistons

Old July 23rd, 2015, 04:46 AM

High Performance pistons

High performance pistons . Thoughts on Performance pistons I know flat tops are the piston of choice but : What about the Idea or thought that a small dish makes the combustion more centered and for a better push like a small combustion chamber within the chamber ? If designed into the build what would the pro's con's of a say dish , flat , or dome ?
Old July 23rd, 2015, 05:22 AM

Originally Posted by firefrost gold
High performance pistons . Thoughts on Performance pistons I know flat tops are the piston of choice but : What about the Idea or thought that a small dish makes the combustion more centered and for a better push like a small combustion chamber within the chamber ? If designed into the build what would the pro's con's of a say dish , flat , or dome ?
Good question mine on my motors are valve relieved.I may be wrong but i think the dome would be better.I am not a expert on pistons so i hope someone chimes in gives some examples.
Old July 23rd, 2015, 10:56 AM

I always thought a bit of a dish might help some what vs a flat top or dome, I think of it as cupping the explosion. I always here that domes aren't really that good for power
Old July 23rd, 2015, 01:30 PM

First consideration is what heads are you running and what compression ratio you desire ? Then the choice of piston dish, flat or dome, and their displacement in CCs either positive (dome) or negative (dish) or flat (zero), plays into how you are going to achieve the desired compression ratio. The piston displacement, combustion chamber size of the heads and whether you choose to deck the block and/or mill the heads to get to the final compression ratio. Head gasket thickness can be used to fine tune, however, the chosen scheme of parts and machining should provide a quench area of around .050" nominal at TDC.

The selection of Piston should also consider total piston and pin weight.