Edelbrock heads - later version much better than earlier?

Search this Thread

Old December 9th, 2016, 06:01 PM

Edelbrock heads - later version much better than earlier?

Could use some advice on Edelbrock cylinder heads.

I am wondering if the latest version 60519 with heart shaped chambers make more power than the early version with a more rounded chamber PN 6051.

Reason I ask is that a gentleman locally has an early set for sale - how much power would I be giving up vs the newer design.

Does anyone have experience with both designs?

They would be going on my 1970 442 that currently has stock E heads. I've searched and found conflicting stories - some claim no power gain with the Ebrock heads, other say 50+ hp gain, but no indication early or later version.

I have very little experience with Oldsmobile engines so would appreciate some experienced help.

Thanks!

Last edited by High 11s; December 10th, 2016 at 09:00 AM.
Old December 9th, 2016, 06:24 PM
" Hoo yah "

I have the earlier style Edelbrock heads on my Olds 461 wifh a little port work. Is your engine pretty much stock? I think I've seen the ad for those heads your talking about. If so you can get New Pro-comps from Bernard Mondello for just a little bit more money.
Old December 9th, 2016, 06:41 PM

Originally Posted by High 11s

I am wondering if the latest version 60519 with heart shaped chambers make more power than the early version with a more rounded chamber PN 6051. Jury is still out on that, no one has done a back to back to my knowledge.

Reason I ask is that a gentleman locally has an early set for sale - how much power would I be giving up vs the newer design.

They would be going on my 1970 442 that currently has stock E heads. If searched and found conflicting stories - some claim no power gain with the Ebrock heads, other say 50+ hp gain, but no indication early or later version. 30 is a better number than 50.