Have you used Sherwin Williams paint?

Search this Thread

Old October 27th, 2014, 12:49 PM
Photoshop God

Have you used Sherwin Williams paint?

I'm interested in hearing how you like outcome of using their paint. Do you use their paint code or do you have something custom mixed. Especially interested in anyone that has a viking blue car, would like to see photos.

edit: I'm doing a restoration so the whole car will be painted, not matching what is there now.

Last edited by DewChugr; October 27th, 2014 at 01:04 PM.
Old October 27th, 2014, 02:00 PM

I've been using Sherwin Williams paint for thirty seven years. It's a good product. In my time I've painted with DuPont, PPG, Sikens and many others. I find that they are all competitive producs with very minor differences. S.W.'s viking blue formula in "Tec Base" is an excellent match, however base clear will have more light reflection on the surface then the original factory paint. The S.W. formula also sparys and mixes the same evey time, so we have no problems matching panels on our old jobs when touch up is needed. Here's pics of some cars we restored in the last twenty years. ~BOB
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
7-25-06 022crop (Small).jpg (82.8 KB, 61 views)
6-23-09 012 (Small).jpg (61.2 KB, 63 views)
3-18-10c 023 (Small).jpg (57.9 KB, 66 views)
Old October 27th, 2014, 08:28 PM
Photoshop God

[QUOTE=Carshinebob;758052]I've been using Sherwin Williams paint for thirty seven years. It's a good product. In my time I've painted with DuPont, PPG, Sikens and many others. I find that they are all competitive producs with very minor difference

Last edited by DewChugr; October 27th, 2014 at 08:36 PM.
Old October 27th, 2014, 10:58 PM
NOVICE car nut

Wow , I was a interior/exterior painter for a while and used SW paints most of the time . Like you said good paint , and I had no idea they made automotive paints too .
Old October 28th, 2014, 06:45 AM
Photoshop God

Originally Posted by Carshinebob