Orange peel still evident!!

Search this Thread

Old April 13th, 2011, 12:22 PM

Orange peel still evident!!

As a novice I am relatively happy with the result. I have never used a spray gun before and the compressor pressure started jumping all over the show when a line feed from the compressor to the gauges developed a crack/leak .I couldn`t figure out what was happening and spent 1/2 my time at practice boards trying to achieve the " cigar shape" and readjusting the gun and gauges. !!! The job could be better as after sanding the clear there are some orange peel spots .Then again it`s surprisingly not too bad.How would I eliminate this orange peel ?? rough up the clear and overshoot with 3 more of clear???
thanks
mike
Old April 13th, 2011, 08:00 PM
Olds Dreamer

You could do that. if u have alot of clear on it now u can still sand and buff it out. but if u think u will cut threw the clear then yeah just rough it up and shoot some more clear and cut and buff it again.
Old April 13th, 2011, 08:10 PM

If it was me, I'd sand-out the peel, and reduce the clear a little more, so it'd lay flat - usually 'orange peel' is from paint too thick - doesn't 'flow'!
Old April 13th, 2011, 08:51 PM

Ok this is a post I can actually be the offer-er of information as I am a custom painter by trade.
So Orange peel refers to the appearance of an uneven texture in the finish. It is usually most appart when you look down the length of the vehicle and the light reflecting shows the undulations in the finish.
But where is the orange peel?
improperly laid down textured surface can happen at any of the stages of automotive paint and will show up through the stack.
Let me sum up the typical stack so we are on the same page.

1) Epoxy (direct to metal) primer
2) Body work
3) Primer surfacer
4) Primer sealer
5) Base coat
6) (candy coat or art work if present)
7) Clear coats