Primer????

Search this Thread

Old December 30th, 2016, 06:27 PM

Primer????

Seems there are as many opinions on this as there are primers!
Here is the deal. I am a novice. A mechanic not a paint and body guy. I am looking for an OEM quality paint job.
I have a project in bare metal that I hope to prime and block sand to deliver to someone that knows what they are doing to finish paint. I resently read an article on PPG VP 2050 DTM high build primer. Seems to eliminate a lot of steps. Any thoughts on this product or the best (cheapest) way for me to deliver the project to the painter.
Old December 30th, 2016, 06:32 PM
Chevy budget Olds powered

I use transtar products. I'm a body man by trade and they have many dtm high build primers that work great. I'm currently using an eastwood brand primer for my repaint. Trying it out. So far it works just as good as anything else. If someone will paint it they will be more worried about proper prep work.
Old December 30th, 2016, 07:24 PM

Originally Posted by coppercutlass
I use transtar products. I'm a body man by trade and they have many dtm high build primers that work great. I'm currently using an eastwood brand primer for my repaint. Trying it out. So far it works just as good as anything else. If someone will paint it they will be more worried about proper prep work.
Copper, I was hoping you would chime in on this. You refer to " proper prep"
This car (body shell with all glass and trim removed) is virtually rust free except 1 small area in the rocker. I have welded in a small patch panel there.. I sanded to bare metal with 60 grit DA. I understand the importance of cleaning.
What would you want me to do before I delivered it to you for base coat /clear coat
Old December 30th, 2016, 08:27 PM