Omni Paint Line

Search this Thread

Old December 3rd, 2009, 03:28 AM

Omni Paint Line

Hi all,
Has anyone used Omni paint/primers before? This is a the second line of PPG. I have never used this system before but on paper looks ok. I typically use PPG K-36/K-38 but it seems not many shops are using what I have used in the past. Just looking for some opinions on this system. Thanks
Old December 3rd, 2009, 05:59 AM
Registered

The pro painter guys on the body and paint forums seem to like the PPG Omni line.
I lurk around at a couple to get info and learn. The guys there pointed me in the right direction when I was doing my bodywork and priming.

http://www.autobodystore.com/forum/

http://www.autobody101.com/forums/
Old December 3rd, 2009, 08:11 AM

Isnt OMNI now Shopline?
Old December 3rd, 2009, 10:12 AM

I use Omni does ok for me and priced right for the do it yourself guys.
Old December 3rd, 2009, 06:21 PM

Thanks for the sites. Checked them out and for the most part omni is ok but some don't like it and some love it. I may try it on the frame of the vista I am doing and see how it works.
Originally Posted by Bluevista
The pro painter guys on the body and paint forums seem to like the PPG Omni line.
I lurk around at a couple to get info and learn. The guys there pointed me in the right direction when I was doing my bodywork and priming.

http://www.autobodystore.com/forum/

http://www.autobody101.com/forums/
Old December 3rd, 2009, 06:23 PM

Which primer do you use?? it looks like there is a 2 part epoxy like DP-90 and 182 2K high build primer like K-36.
Originally Posted by jj1965
I use Omni does ok for me and priced right for the do it yourself guys.
Old December 5th, 2009, 06:43 AM

I use the high build and block it out before topcoating. It sands good wet or dry seems to be better to sand wet for a smoother finish. I also reduce the primer on the final coat for less orange peel.
Old December 5th, 2009, 07:25 AM