The heat stopped blowing and its cold out here.

Search this Thread

Old February 15th, 2012, 12:23 PM

The heat stopped blowing and its cold out here.

Hello, I bought a 1970 Cutlass Supreme "Holiday Edition" this past summer while in Florida and drove it back up to Washington, DC. I am new to this car and classic cars in general, so my knowledge is still quite basic.

While in florida it was hot, so I wanted to get the A/C working, I had the freon recharged and the A/C blew wonderfully for about 3 days. Then it started making a burning rubber smell, and my a/c guy said that the compressor was seizing up, so I stopped using the A/C until I can get it rebuilt or replaced. That was a few months ago. Now once it got cold, I started using the heat, avoiding switching on the a/c as I didn't want to completely seize up the compressor. It worked great for about two weeks and then the heat stopped blowing (I am getting no air from the ducts, or perhaps a very faint bit of air which is probably a draft).
Here are my questions.
1. How do I diagnose what is broken is there a fan that stopped working or does the heater coil need to be replaced? All I have checked is the fuses (which look fine)
2.Is this problem at all related to the a/c or separate?
3.Are the possible fixes simple (i.e by a new heater coil an NAPA and swapping it out real quick) or complicated enough that I should take it in to a mechanic. I have pretty basic tools available right now so I cant do anything too involved.
Thanks for your help,
Ben
Old February 15th, 2012, 12:34 PM

Blower circuit is pretty simple. Since no sppeds work, check the fuse in the fuse box first. Replace it; not look at it.
With blower on different speeds, check voltage at the purple wire in this picture.

If you cannot get to it, probe that same wire under the relay above the brake booster.

You can even probe some of the different prongs of the resistor to ground and report back your findings.